Liholiho Elementary

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu

May 2017 Principal's Message

Dear Parents, Students and Community Members,
      Congratulations to our graduating Class of 2017!  Our school will truly miss you.  The majority of the fifth grade class entered our school as Kindergarten students.  During the past six years we have watched you grow into young ladies and gentlemen.  Best of luck as you enter a new phase in your education.  Remember you are always invited to return to visit us!
       At our last day assembly, we announced teachers who will leaving our school.  Students, teachers and staff wished the following teachers success as they pursue other opportunities or retire:
   Mrs. Madeline Yee, retiring after 28 years of successful teaching at Liholiho Elementary.
   Mr. Ryan Towata, Gr. 4 and STEM teacher, is moving to Maui with his wife, Jodie who was our former Student Service Coordinator.
   Mrs. Reiko Ueki, Gr. 3 teacher, will be spending time with her two children, ages 2 and 4.
   Ms. Lori Shimizu, Gr. K teacher, will be on leave.  She will moving to Seattle for the year.
   Mrs. Patricia Nevada, TEAM, will be furthering her university education.
       Mahalo to PTA Board Members, Lawrence So and Staci Yoshihara.  Their children, Leanne So and Kaitlin Yoshihara are graduating.  Mr. So was a dedicated member of the PTA Board for seven years and held numerous positions.  He was our Fun Fair Chairman for 2 years.  Mrs. Yoshihara was on the board for five years and organized a variety of projects!  She and her husband, Scott were dedicated to helping our school.  They organized the fun PTA Movie Nights.
       Wishing all an enjoyable and restful summer break!  Visit the library and participate in their Summer Reading Program.  The community provides  summer learning opportunities to explore.
       Parents/Guardians will receive a mail out listing important 2017-18 SY information and dates.  Our Welcome Back to School Night will be held on Thursday, August 3, 2017.  Students and parents can visit their new classroom and bring their school supplies to their teacher.
                                                                     Christina Small, Principal